PDA

View Full Version : Received strange link request with "Possible Fraud?"


Kathy
08-21-2007, 11:37 AM
Hi all!
I am fairly new to link swapping since it is only recently that I started up my first online retail store, complete with the Links page.

After I registered with LinkPartners last week, I was pleased to start receiving some invites to swap links - however, I am confused about one strange request, and could not find any explanation here at LinkPartners.

Inside the eMail, where it gives me the Link Title and Target URL information, it stated this (I have "x'd" out the name of the company):
"MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "www.xxx.net" claiming to be "XXXXX Company Name and URL"

There is no explanation about this, and so I don't quite know what to do. I checked out the URL, and it APPEARS to be a real business - but I am still leary.

Has anyone else gotten such a request? If so, can you give me some suggestions as to the best way to respond (or, at least, to find out what this is about?)

Thanks in advance!
Kath

admin
08-27-2007, 03:17 PM
Inside the eMail, where it gives me the Link Title and Target URL information, it stated this (I have "x'd" out the name of the company):
"MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "www.xxx.net" claiming to be "XXXXX Company Name and URL"



Kathy,

Sounds like your internet service provider is using a spam control software called "mailscanner" which is very effective. We use it here too! :D

The message you are seeing is a warning.. anytime an email includes someone else's URL and comes from a third party such as how LinkPartners.com behaves, you will see a warning such as this.

Disregard it for now.. email coming from Linkpartners.com references our user's domain names so you may see warnings such as the one you mentioned above.

Kathy
08-27-2007, 05:09 PM
Thanks so much! I appreciate the response. I hate to sound so paranoid... Have a great day! :) This is a great forum...
Kath